Carving faces

It is strange
how,

in mirrors
I was carving out
a bust
and paused in ponder over
what the shaping of my eyes,
and what the colour of my eyes,
and what the longing in my eyes,
and chipped and chipped
till I was bruised in one
and broken in the other,

yet
in blindness
did a friendship’s open hand
draw me from the hardened mould
to lids above my cheek,
to contours of their oval form,
to curtains brimming past the edge,
and drew and drew
till lashes up, mirrors gone,
and I myself appeared –
here I stand, here I am.
I finally understand.

(c) 2015 Katho28

True friendship helped to summon the one person I’d always tried looking for but could never quite find or see – me.

12 thoughts on “Carving faces

  1. A great wisdom, you can never judge yourself or understand urself by simply look at what others think of you, but when you meet a true friend for life, can they finally help you understand who you are and thus , see through urselves using this invisible mirror .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katho;
    “True friendship helped to summon the one person I’d always tried looking for but could never quite find or see – me”.
    Do I qualify on this definition; tell me very very frankly and honestly, be rest assured, I will not take anything personally, neither it will make any difference in our present “Blogging friendship”; Why, I am specifically asking this question, in my life time, if I can become someones’ close, trustworthy, true friend, I think, I have done.
    Do I need to say, I always expect frank, honest and true feedback????????????
    Wishing you all the best……………………..

    Like

    1. I do see you as a true friend, because you are always so supportive of me and my work. Sometimes when I don’t feel that what I’ve written is worthy or good enough, you make me feel much better with your kind, kind words and constant flow of wonderful comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Katho;
    Thanks for your reply; because, like you; I too always “Dying and Crying” for some really, really good friends and whenever, genuine people like you considered me as a true friend, I simply feel that,now, I don’t need any approval from the entire world.
    Do I need to say, one more time, how much, I am enjoying your purest, crystal-clear and innocent friendship, people like you are biggest assets in the cyber world.
    Wishing you all the best……………….

    Like

Leave a Reply

