Why succeed when you can fail?

(NOTE: this is just my opinion – nothing more, nothing less.)

I know success stories are meant to be motivation; they are meant to inspire us to strive for better, to persevere and persist, to brave our way into the impossible.

Yet I’ve always wondered: do such stories show us what we can achieve, or do they merely depict what others have achieved? It sounds very pessimistic when I write it out like this, but whenever I get compared to cousins or the children of my parents’ friends who’ve already overcome these insurmountable obstacles, all I feel is this sense of discouragement and frustration. Sure, they’ve leapt over the barriers… but I’m still stuck on the other side, still staring at the indestructible walls, still trapped.

To me, success stories are just as unreachable as success itself – both are concealed behind tall, sturdy walls that I have neither the strength to break, nor the courage to scale.

This is not to say that I don’t admire others for all the hard work and effort they’ve put in to attain their achievements – it is to say that just because they’ve made the ‘impossible’ possible, doesn’t mean I’m capable of doing that too. Their bravery cannot be mines; their endurance isn’t passed onto me. I cannot be their footsteps or even follow a derivative of the path of pain and suffering and failure they took before they could reach success.

Instead, I choose to be inspired by the fresh, the original, the creative – because in the end, maybe it’s not about trying to imitate someone else’s success; maybe it’s about creating your own – approaching the challenge at hand with your own flair.

You will fail, you will fail, you will fail – so why not fail in glory? Forget about the eventual success that will come after all those failures and instead, let your failures be your greatest successes.

12 thoughts on “Why succeed when you can fail?

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more.
    I think that so often that it is embedded into my brain.
    But to be honest, I think it’s all about trying. I think it’s about pushing, fighting, and working your butt off. I mean, think of Thomas Edison–he failed 1,000 times (he might have been discouraged), but it didn’t stop him from making light–the very thing we use everyday.
    This post was great!
    Remember: never give up, beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. katho;
    “To me, success stories are just as unreachable as success itself – both are concealed behind tall, sturdy walls that I have neither the strength to break, nor the courage to scale”.

    WHY?????????????????????????????????????????
    WHY?????????????????????????????????????
    WHY??????????????????????
    WHY??????????????

    Like

    1. I was a little reluctant writing this post, mainly because I felt like a lot of readers out there may not agree with me. Sorry for being a little pessimistic and sombre… but I did try to add a positive conclusion to the blog post 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Katho;
        Don’t worry; I was just joking; otherwise, you have every right to write what ever you feel right in your mind and in your blog; in fact. readers enjoy your true feelings……..
        Any way; congratulation for wonderful post……………

        Like

  3. Great post! I agree and feel the same way. We all get discouraged and frustrated. That’s part of life unfortunately. We all have different talents and different achievements we are striving for. Failing is part of learning.
    This is my first time on your site. I look forward to reading it. 🙂

    Like

  4. “I cannot be their footsteps or even follow a d/dx of the path of pain and suffering and failure they took before they could reach success.” 😥 I feel you sister

    Like

Leave a Reply

