Update on novel-writing

Hi guys! Sorry for my lack of posting in the last week or so… life has been crazy and… the truth is, I’ve taken up novel-writing again.

Despite my many (failed) attempts at writing novels in the past, I’ve managed to muster enough determination to try again. I have to admit – I’ve always been more of a writer of short pieces. I never seem to have enough patience to plan and come up with intricate storylines and backstories and characters, which is why novel-writing and I have never clicked together. I would write a few chapters with this great burning idea in my mind, but after a while, the idea would grow darker and darker until I found I could not see it anymore. Then, I would take a ‘break’ which was really my way of giving up without saying that I was giving up.

But this time, this time I feel stronger than I’ve ever been. I feel like I finally have a grasp of the problem that keeps drawing the reins and pulling me to a complete stop. It’s not merely that I’m too impatient, it’s also that I’m too much of a perfectionist. I fret over the smallest of phrases and even as I write the current chapter, my mind wanders to the flaws of the previous chapter, and I fall into a spiral of self-criticism to the point that I just stop writing altogether.

I’ve always liked shorter pieces of writing because you get to capture a single tiny moment in time; you don’t have to worry about all those other moments, just that single moment. Novel-writing, on the other hand, forces you to think about a collection of moments and how one moment can impact on all the other moments. I like jumping right in when it comes to writing, but novel-writing can only be successful if I consider the consequences and aftermath of whatever scene I happen to be constructing.

What are some of your thoughts on novel-writing? What has your experiences with novel-writing been like? Tell me in the comments below!

And the story I’m currently writing is actually on Wattpad, so look here for a direct link to it. It’s titled ‘Expectation 2.0’. Here’s a synopsis for it:

Life’s all about recreating yourself, right?

Unfortunately, as with most things in life, that’s easier said than done.

Meet Bree Harper: she faces daily bouts of shyness, tripping over and blushing furiously while talking to strangers. When she unwillingly finds herself at a uni party one night, she’s challenged by the one and only Jay Winters (aka. ‘the life of the party’) to a match of reinvention, i.e. shatter as many expectations that people have about you as possible, and do that all in a month.

But a game like this is bound to have consequences.

I’ll keep you guys updated with whatever happens next, and will get back to poetry writing as soon as I can 🙂

2 thoughts on “Update on novel-writing

    1. Thanks! Haha you should try out novel-writing then… I’ll definitely read any pieces you write 🙂 And I’m glad it’s cracking you up – I’m really aiming to write a humorous story!

      Like

Leave a Reply

